Falling Apart When I should Have Been Just Falling

I feel like that’s a lyric. I don’t know if it’s something someone else wrote, or if it’s something I wrote. No idea.

I have a lot of posts in my brain, but I’ve been going through a lot right now, including some family health issues, personal depression/anxiety issues and remixing my old band’s first album (this will be its own post actually.) Instead of focusing on one topic like I normally do, I think I’m just going to post a bunch of bandcamp links to things I really like.

Editors Note — for some reason, embedding isn’t working, so just follow the links. Sorry.

  1. PETROL GIRLS – BABY (2022)
    A co-worker based out of Germany recommended this band and I have zero regrets checking it out. It harnesses the the energy of the Riot Grrl movement while taking influence from the more intersectional and diverse “Now Wave” scene of the 90s/early 00’s. Think bands like Erase Errata, Scissor Girls or current heroes No Men.

    https://petrolgirls.bandcamp.com/album/baby
  2. THE AUSTERITY PROGRAM – BEYOND CALCULATION (2014)
    I used to think Shellac was Big Black with a live drummer. This was wrong. Shellac with a drum machine would probably sound more like Austerity Program than Big Black. It’s a dumb mental exercise, so let’s just say if you dig Steve Albini and his disciples, you’ll probably really like this record. I really like this record. There’s some really great, kick ass stereo stuff going on here too.

    https://austerityprogram.bandcamp.com/album/beyond-calculation
  3. CIVIC – FUTURE FORECAST (2021)
    So these dudes are from Australia, so they already have a leg up on everyone else. Same mold as bands like The Saints or Radio Birdman, but with a legit shredder on guitar. It has some awesome proto punk vibes as well as Cock Sparrer’s earlier pub rock stuff. Fuckin’ solid and has become what I listen to walking from the train to work on days I go into the office.

    https://civicivic.bandcamp.com/album/future-forecast
  4. SCRUNCHIES – FERAL COAST (2022)
    Lofi punk from Minneapolis featuring ex-members of Condominium, Bruise Violet and Baby Guts — all bands I love. It sounds pretty much exactly how you think it sounds.

    https://scrunchies.bandcamp.com/album/feral-coast
  5. SPONGE TUNNEL – 1989 (1989)
    I blew the dust off of this 7″ recently. Sponge Tunnel was lead by Russ Forster who was the founder of UNDERDOG RECORDS, who were responsible for putting out some of my favorite Chicago punk records in the 90s.
    I hadn’t listened to this single in a while and regret not revisiting it sooner. I heard this 7″ before I heard the Stooges, so the reference was completely lost on 15 year old me. They were a diverse, weird punk band and worth time exploring.

    https://dupagecountyhardcore.bandcamp.com/album/1989

OK, enjoy exploring this stuff and drop some recs in the comments. Music is one of the few things that gets me through this life and I appreciate all recs.



Author: gofreaksgo

Life long Chicagoan and Northwest side resident. Lover of music, off kilter outsiders and fuck ups. A List of My Ailments - - Chronic Goth Disorder - Early Onset Grumpiness - Bad Knees

Leave a comment